Click to Home
Go To Search
Urban Forest
CommunityBusinessVisitorsGovernmentEnvironment
San Jose Home
Climate Smart San José
Climate Smart San Jose banner

Climate Smart San José (CSSJ) is a bold plan to reduce greenhouse gas emissions (GHG) related to energy and mobility (transportation and land use) and ensure a long-term water supply. The San José City Council unanimously approved the plan on Feb. 27, 2018.


Read the Climate Smart San José plan!
Learn more about Climate Smart San José. Read the:

How we got here
The City Council approved funding for CSSJ, formerly known as the Environmental Sustainability Plan, in December 2016.

The Environmental Services Department (ESD) conducted extensive outreach to the community in drafting the plan. Since 2017, ESD has conducted or participated in 18 public meetings and convened six technical workshops on Climate Smart San José.

What's next
The City will continue to engage the community and hold public meetings in 2018 as it begins to implement the plan.

What the plan will do
CSSJ will make San José a climate leader, putting the City on a path to meet GHG reduction targets under the Paris climate agreement. The plan has three components: energy, mobility and water. It aims not only to reduce the city’s carbon footprint but also to improve quality of life for those who live and work in San José.

Learn more & get involved
For updates on Climate Smart San José, subscribe here. Email questions and comments to

Past Meetings
Public Meetings:
City Council Meeting Decision to accept the Climate Smart San José Plan
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
San José City Hall, Council Chambers
Video recording | Agenda | MemorandumAttachment AAttachment B

Town Hall Meeting
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
San José City Hall, Council Chambers
Video recording | Agenda | Presentation

Neighborhoods Commission
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
San José City Hall, Wing Rooms 118 & 119
Agenda | Presentation

Youth Commission
Monday, August 28, 2017

San José City Hall, Council Chambers
Agenda | Minutes

City Council Study Session
Monday, August 21, 2017

San José City Hall, Council Chambers
Video recording | Agenda | Presentation

Town Hall Meeting
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
San José City Hall, Council Chambers
Video Recording | Transcript | Presentation
Questions? Email 
View Trilingual Flyer

City Council Study Session
Monday, January 30, 2017

San José City Hall, Council Chambers
Video recording | Agenda | Presentation

Community Meetings:
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Capitol Neighborhood Association

Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Tropicana Lanai Neighborhood Association

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Seven Trees Neighborhood Association


Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Mount Pleasant Neighborhood Association


Wednesday, August 9, 2017
McKinley Bonita Neighborhood Association

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Berryessa Branch Library

Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Bascom Branch Library

Friday, June 23, 2017
Santa Teresa Branch Library

Thursday, June 22, 2017
Tully Community Branch Library

Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Alum Rock Branch Library

Monday, May 15, 2017
Tully Community Branch Library

Technical Workshops:
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Environmental Innovation Center

Thursday, October 31, 2017
Environmental Innovation Center

Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Environmental Innovation Center

Tuesday, May 30, 2017
San José City Hall, Wing Room 120

Friday, May 12, 2017
Environmental Innovation Center

Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Environmental Innovation Center