Click to Home
Go To Search
Urban Forest
San Jose Home
About Us
About Us - Aerial of GroupThe San José-Santa Clara Regional Wastewater Facility* is a regional advanced wastewater treatment plant that serves the following eight cities and four sanitation districts:
  • Cities of San José, Santa Clara, Milpitas
  • Cupertino Sanitary District (Cupertino), West Valley Sanitation District (Campbell, Los Gatos, Monte Sereno, and Saratoga)
  • County Sanitation Districts 2-3 and Burbank Sanitary District (both unincorporated)

The Facility is jointly owned by the cities of San José and Santa Clara, and is managed and operated by the City of San José’s Environmental Services Department. Several decision-making entities oversee its activities, including the city councils of San José and Santa Clara, the Treatment Plant Advisory Committee (TPAC), and the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC). 
TPAC is comprised of elected or appointed officials from the Facility's tributary agencies who meet monthly to review and approve Facility expenditures. TAC administrators from each city or sanitation district meet monthly to review operational and financial issues and report back to their respective agencies.

* In 2013, the Facility was approved to use a new common name, the San José-Santa Clara Regional Wastewater Facility. For legal purposes, its official name remains the San Jose/Santa Clara Water Pollution Control Plant.