Show/Hide

COVID-19 (CORONAVIRUS) UPDATES

Updates on City of San José Services and/or Operations . (English | Español | Tiếng Việt | 中文)

Consultants - Historic Resources

Purpose

For resource identification and project review under local, state, and federal rules, policies, and plans, the City relies on the work of qualified consultants who are contracted by private applicants and owners.

Property owners, community groups, and private property development applicants may also seek the services of qualified professionals in the areas of architecture, history, architectural history, historic architects, engineering, archaeology, oral history, historic preservation, documentary research, field work, and other professional services relating to historic resource identification, review, preservation, and treatment.

Listed below are professional consultants who have expressed interest in providing such services in the City of San Jose. These consultants were found to meet the minimum qualifications in their fields.

Note: The City of San Jose maintains a separate list of historic resource consultants for work contracted by the City.   

USE OF THE CONSULTANT LIST

This list may assist with finding qualified consultants. There may be qualified historic resource consultants who are not listed here and the list should not be seen as all-inclusive. Applicants are free to contract for services with any qualified consultant.  

You are encouraged to check with the consultants for their areas of specialization before contracting for services. The City does not recommend or endorse any listed consultants.  

Contact information is subject to change. 

NOTE TO CONSULTANTS  -  To update your contact information or to be added or removed from the list, please contact the Planning Division. Consultants should have a good understanding of Santa Clara County history and San Jose’s architectural heritage and resource types and be familiar with the City’s Historic Resources Inventory, Historic Preservation Ordinance, and General Plan policies for Historic Preservation.


AECOM

Rod Jeung
rod.jeung@aecom.com
300 California Street, Suite 600
San Francisco, CA 94104
(415) 796-8100
www.aecom.com

 

ARCHAEOLOGICAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT

Dr. Robert Cartier
Doug Jones
496 N. 5th Street
San Jose, CA 95112
(408) 295-1373
armcartier@netscape.net

 

ARCHITECTURAL RESOURCE GROUP

Charles Chase
c.chase@argsf.com
Pier 9, The Embarcadero, Suite 107
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 421-1680
www.argsf.com

 

ARCHIVES & ARCHITECTURE, LLC

Franklin Maggi, Architectural Historian
franklin.maggi@archhistory.com
P.O. Box 1332
San Jose, CA 95109
(408) 297-2684 
www.archivesandarchitecture.com

 

BASIN RESEARCH ASSOCIATES, INC.

Ward Hill
Principal Architectural Historian
whill@basinresearch.com
San Leandro, CA 94577
(510) 430-8441
www.basinresearch.com


BONNIE MONTGOMERY, M.A.

bmontgom@mac.com
421 N. Fifth Street
San Jose, CA  95112
(408) 439-9073

BREWSTER HISTORIC PRESERVATION

Brad Brewster
brad.brewster@brewsterpreservation.com
141 Pierce Street
San Francisco, CA  94117
(415) 519-0254
www.brewsterpreservation.com

 

DUDEK

Senior Architectural Historian
khaley@dudek.com
725 Front Street, Suite 400
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
T (530) 863-4274
C (916) 539-2202T
www.dudek.com

 

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE ASSOCIATES (ESA)

Amber Grady
agrady@esassoc.com
(916) 231-1260
2600 Capitol Avenue, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95816
(916) 564-4500
www.esassoc.com

 

EVANS & DE SHAZO

Stacey De Shazo, M.A.
stacey@evans-deshazo.com
1141 Gravenstein Highway South
Sebastopol, CA 95472
(707) 812-7400
www.evans-deshazo.com

 

GARAVAGLIA ARCHITECTURE, INC.

Michael Garavaglia, Principal
mike@garavaglia.com
582 Market Street, Suite 1800
San Francisco, CA 94104
(415) 391-9633

GPA CONSULTING

Laura O’Neill
laura@gpaconsulting-us.com
305 S. Kalorama Street
Ventura, CA 93001
(310) 792-2690
www.gpaconsulting-us.com

 

ICF

Susan Lassell
susan.lassell@icf.com
630 K Street, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 737-3000
www.icf.com

 

INTERACTIVE RESOURCES, INC.

Charlie Duncan
charlie.duncan@intres.com
117 Park Place
Richmond, CA 94801
T (510) 236-7435
T (510) 231-7552
C (510) 520-6904
www.intres.com


KOSTURA ARCHITECTURAL HISTORY

William Kostura
wkostura328@gmail.com
P.O. Box 60211
Palo Alto, CA 94306
(650) 815-1174

  

MacROSTIE HISTORIC ADVISORS, LLC

Jennifer Hembree, Senior Associate
(408) 490-2069
jhembree@mac-ha.com
JulieAnn Murphy, Associate
(408) 217-1909
jmurphy@mac-ha.com
991 W. Hedding Street, Suite 106
San Jose, CA 95126
www.macrostiehistoric.com

 

MICHAEL BAKER INTERNATIONAL

Margo Nayyar, Architectural Historian
margo.nayyar@mbakerintl.com
2729 Prospect Park Drive, Suite 220
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
(916) 231-2236
www.mbakerintl.com

 

MINEWEASER & ASSOCIATES

865 The Alameda
San Jose, CA 95126
(408) 206-2990
www.mineweaser.com
 

BONNIE MONTGOMERY, M.A.

bmontgom@mac.com
421 N. Fifth Street
San Jose, CA  95112
(408) 439-9073

 

PAGE & TURNBULL

Ruth Todd
ruthtodd@page-turnbull.com
170 Maiden Lane, 5th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94108
(415) 362-5154
www.page-turnbull.com

 

RINCON CONSULTANTS, INC.

Rachel Perzel
rperzel@rinconconsultants.com
180 N. Ashwood Avenue
Ventura, CA 93003
(805) 644-4455
www.rinconconsultants.com

 

SWCA ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANTS

Nelson White
nwhite@swca.com
330 Townsend Street, Suite 216
San Francisco, CA 94107
(415) 536-2883
www.swca.com

 

STANTEC

Garret Root, Senior Architectural Historian
garret.root@stantec.com
75 E. Santa Clara Street, Suite 1225
San Jose, CA 95113
T (916) 754-4347
C (916) 502-6967
www.stantec.com

 

STRATA DESIGN STUDIO

John S. Tabuena-Frolli, AIA, Principal
jtfrolli@gmail.com
P.O. Box 1127
San Jose, CA 95108
(408) 705-3148

 

TIM KELLEY CONSULTING

Kara Fortuna
kara@timkelleyconsulting.com
2912 Diamond Street, Suite 330
San Francisco, CA 94131
(415) 337-5824
www.timkelleyconsulting.com

 

TREANORHL

Kimberly Butt, AIA, Principal
T (628) 220-4440
C (510) 220-7145
kbutt@treanorhl.com
Aysem Kilinc
Architectural Historian/Preservation Planner
(628) 220-4454
akilinc@treanorhl.com
460 Bush Street, Second Floor
San Francisco, CA 94108
(415) 773-0773
www.treanorhl.com

  

URBAN PROGRAMMERS

Bonnie Bamburg
bbamburg@usa.net
10710 Ridgeview Avenue
San Jose, CA 95127
(408) 254-7171

VER PLANCK HISTORIC PRESERVATION CONSULTING

Christopher VerPlanck
chris@verplanckconsulting.com
57 Post Street, Suite 810
San Francisco, CA 94104
(415) 391-7486
www.verplanckconsulting.com